Thomson Reuters prints more Westlaw prices than most legal vendors, but they are scattered across plan FAQs and only apply to some buyers. This page puts the published figures, the reported ones and the multi-year arithmetic in one place, so a solo or small firm knows what a year of Westlaw costs before the sales call.
Every Westlaw figure below is labeled as published by Thomson Reuters or reported by a third party. None of it is a quote you can hold anyone to.
Start a review
Drop a document below. The first review runs without an account.
Contracts, briefs, leases and exhibits
One document per review, PDF, Word, images
First review runs without an account. Encrypted in transit, kept private to your account.
Westlaw costs a solo practitioner roughly $107 to $400 a month in 2026, which is about $1,300 to $4,800 a year. Thomson Reuters publishes Westlaw Advantage at $256.75 a month for single-circuit coverage and $399.75 for all states and federal, with 12 percent off on two years and 18 percent off on three. Reported Westlaw Edge plans with AI-Assisted Research run $155.35 to $266.50 on a three-year term. Those online prices are for new customers at firms of up to 10 attorneys; larger firms and anyone renewing get a quote instead.
Start with what the vendor puts in writing. These come from the plans and pricing FAQ on the Thomson Reuters legal sales site, checked September 2026. The conditions in the right-hand column matter as much as the prices.
| What Thomson Reuters states | Figure | Condition attached |
|---|---|---|
| Westlaw Advantage, single circuit | From $256.75 per month | Starting price, before multi-year discount |
| Westlaw Advantage, all states and federal | From $399.75 per month | Starting price, before multi-year discount |
| Two-year subscription | 12% off | New features added during the term are included |
| Three-year subscription | 18% off | Same, for the initial contract term |
| Who can buy at the online price | Firms with up to 10 attorneys | More than 10 attorneys must contact sales |
| Existing customers | Not eligible for online pricing | Call 888-728-7677 or use the contact form |
| Time to access | Within 1 business day for most customers | Credentials sent once the account is set up |
The row that catches people is the existing-customer one. The number on the website is an acquisition price. If you already have a Westlaw account, your renewal is negotiated with a rep, and it can land above or below what a brand-new solo would pay online for the same plan.
Below the Advantage tier, prices come from third parties. Some quote Thomson Reuters pages that render prices in the browser, some are review directories, and some are old. The date column is the one to read first.
| Plan and coverage | Reported monthly price | Source type and date | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Westlaw Edge, single circuit | $107.25 | Competitor pricing guide citing Thomson Reuters, June 2026 | Medium |
| Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research, single circuit | $155.35 on a 3-year term | Two 2026 guides citing Thomson Reuters plan pages | Medium to high |
| Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research, all states and federal | $266.50 on a 3-year term | Two 2026 guides citing Thomson Reuters plan pages | Medium to high |
| Westlaw Classic, single state / all states / all states and federal | $133 / $200 / $266.40 on a 1-year term | Legal tech review site, December 2024 | Medium, dated |
| Westlaw Edge, single state | $169.60 to $194.40 | Software directories and a 2024 review | Medium, dated |
| "Westlaw Essentials" at about $96 | About $96 | A May 2019 cost comparison, still repeated in 2026 articles | Low, stale |
| Out-of-plan document or search | Reported around $99 per search, and a $174 charge for one document outside a plan | County law library guide, June 2026; reviewer anecdote | Low, anecdotal |
| More than 10 attorneys | No published rate | Thomson Reuters plan FAQ | Published |
One warning about the row most often quoted. The "$96 a month Westlaw Essentials" figure traces back to a cost comparison published in May 2019. Articles written this year still lead with it, but the Westlaw lineup has since moved to Edge, Edge with AI-Assisted Research and Advantage. Do not budget from it.
The multi-year discounts are published as percentages, not dollars. Here they are worked out on the Advantage starting prices, which is what the Thomson Reuters FAQ implies they apply to. Your checkout page is the final word; this is the number to expect.
| One attorney | 1-year price | 2-year (12% off) | 3-year (18% off) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Advantage, single circuit | $256.75/mo, $3,081/yr | $225.94/mo, $2,711/yr | $210.54/mo, $2,526/yr |
| Advantage, all states and federal | $399.75/mo, $4,797/yr | $351.78/mo, $4,221/yr | $327.80/mo, $3,934/yr |
| Edge with AI-Assisted Research, single circuit (reported) | Not reported | Not reported | $155.35/mo, $1,864/yr |
| Edge with AI-Assisted Research, all states and federal (reported) | Not reported | Not reported | $266.50/mo, $3,198/yr |
| LegalSoul Solo, 100 document reviews a month | $99/mo, or $588 on the yearly plan | No multi-year term | No multi-year term |
Read the three-year column as a commitment, not a discount. A solo on Advantage with all states and federal who takes the 18 percent is signing for about $11,800 over the term. That is a fine deal for a litigator who will use Westlaw every week for three years, and an expensive one for a lawyer who might move firms, go in-house or shift to a transactional practice in year two.
The LegalSoul row is not the same product. Westlaw is authoritative legal research with KeyCite; LegalSoul reads a contract, lease, brief or exhibit and flags issues, risky clauses and missing terms with page cites. It is in the table because a lot of solo practitioners pay for a research tier to get at document analysis features, and that part of the job costs a fraction of the price on its own.
Five attorneys is inside the 10-attorney limit, so this firm can still buy at the online price if none of them is an existing customer. Per-attorney pricing is assumed, which is how the plans are listed.
| Scenario | Monthly | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| 5 x Advantage, single circuit, 1-year price | $1,283.75 | $15,405 |
| 5 x Advantage, all states and federal, 1-year price | $1,998.75 | $23,985 |
| 5 x Advantage, all states and federal, 3-year price | $1,639.00 | $19,668 |
| 5 x Edge with AI-Assisted Research, all states and federal, 3-year (reported) | $1,332.50 | $15,990 |
| LegalSoul Professional, one account, 500 document reviews a month | $299 | $3,588 monthly billing, or $1,788 on the yearly plan |
A common and cheaper setup for small firms: Advantage or Edge seats only for the attorneys who research every day, and a separate review tool for the people whose week is reading agreements and opposing counsel's filings. Whether that split works for your firm takes one uploaded document to find out.
Single circuit versus all states and federal is the biggest lever: $143 a month per attorney on the published Advantage prices. Pick the jurisdictions you file in, not the ones you might.
Edge, Edge with AI-Assisted Research and Advantage differ mostly in AI. Advantage adds Deep Research, Litigation Document Analyzer, Complaint Analyzer, Claims Explorer and AI Jurisdictional Surveys.
12 percent off for two years, 18 percent for three. New features released during the initial term are included, which is the real argument for the longer term.
Online pricing is for new customers only. Renewals go through a rep, so get the online price for your exact plan in writing before the renewal call and use it as the anchor.
Material outside your subscription is charged separately. Reports of $99 searches and a $174 document are anecdotal, but the mechanism is real. Ask for out-of-plan warnings to be switched on for every user.
Contracts renew automatically and cancellation has a notice window. Put the notice date in your calendar 60 days ahead of renewal, not 30, and cap the annual increase at signing.
Westlaw and Lexis are research platforms and win every research row. LegalSoul does one thing, document review, and wins on price and on how fast you can try it.
| Question | Westlaw | Lexis+ with Protégé | LegalSoul |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price, one attorney | Reported $107.25/mo, Edge single circuit, 3 years | Reported about $114/mo, Essential, 3 years | $99/mo, published |
| Price with AI included | $256.75 to $399.75/mo, Advantage, published | Reported $250 to $500 all-in | AI review is the product |
| Online checkout | Up to 10 attorneys, new customers | 1 to 3 attorneys | Any firm size |
| Minimum term | 1 year | 1 year | Monthly, cancel any time |
| Case law research and citator | Yes, KeyCite | Yes, Shepard's | No. LegalSoul is not a research tool |
| Review an uploaded contract or brief | Litigation Document Analyzer in Advantage | Upload and ask, per-use or in plan | Yes: issues, risky clauses, missing terms, page cites |
| Enterprise security paperwork | Trust center, ISO 27001 and 42001 | Trust center, customer-held keys | No SOC 2 report and no SAML SSO |
| Try it on your own document first | Free trial through Thomson Reuters | Arranged through LexisNexis | Yes, the first review runs without an account |
The full Lexis side, including the per-use AI charges LexisNexis publishes, is on our Lexis AI pricing breakdown. If you are pricing the AI layer on its own, the CoCounsel pricing page covers the four CoCounsel plans.
Westlaw pays for itself in a litigation or appellate practice. Headnotes, the Key Number System and KeyCite are the reason courts and opposing counsel trust your citations, and nothing priced at a tenth of the cost replaces them. A litigator filing motions every week should buy the plan and spend the negotiating energy on coverage and term.
The AI layer needs checking whichever plan you pick. The Stanford RegLab and HAI study published in 2024 found Westlaw's AI-Assisted Research answered 42 percent of test queries accurately and hallucinated on 33 percent. Thomson Reuters has shipped newer versions since, but partner time for verification belongs in the budget.
It is a weaker purchase for a transactional or advisory practice. If most of your week is reading vendor agreements, leases, NDAs and employment contracts for risk, the research subscription is mostly idle and you are paying Advantage rates for document analysis. Solo attorneys weighing both sides can see fourteen tools priced in our guide to the best AI for solo practitioners, and the review side on its own starts at the published LegalSoul plans.
Count the courts you filed in last year. If it is one circuit, the single-circuit plan saves $143 a month on Advantage.
Look at a normal week. How many hours were finding authority, and how many were reading contracts and filings?
Upload a contract you know well to the tool at the top of this page. The review comes back in under a minute, no account needed.
Then choose the Westlaw tier for the research half only, and pick the term you are sure of, not the one with the biggest discount.
Thomson Reuters lists Westlaw Advantage from $256.75 a month for single-circuit coverage and $399.75 a month for all states and federal. Reported prices for Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research run $155.35 to $266.50 a month on a three-year term. Online prices apply to new customers at firms of up to 10 attorneys; everyone else gets a quote.
A solo practitioner buying online in 2026 pays roughly $107 to $400 a month, or about $1,300 to $4,800 a year. The low end is a reported single-circuit Westlaw Edge plan on a three-year term. The high end is Westlaw Advantage with all states and federal at the one-year price, before the 12 or 18 percent multi-year discount.
Thomson Reuters says Westlaw Advantage starts at $256.75 per month for single-circuit coverage and $399.75 per month for all states and federal, with 12 percent off on a two-year subscription and 18 percent off on three years. Firms with more than 10 attorneys must contact sales for pricing.
Yes. Thomson Reuters publishes 12 percent off a two-year Westlaw Advantage subscription and 18 percent off three years. Applied to the listed prices, all states and federal drops from $399.75 to about $327.80 a month on three years. New features released during the initial term are included, so you will not need to upgrade mid-contract.
No. Thomson Reuters states that online Westlaw pricing is for new customers only, and existing customers must call 888-728-7677 or use the contact form. Your renewal quote can therefore differ from the website price for the same plan, which makes the online figure a useful anchor in the negotiation.
At the entry level they are close. Reported Lexis+ store plans for one to three attorneys start near $114 a month on three years, and a reported single-circuit Westlaw Edge plan starts at $107.25 on three years. With AI included, both land around $250 to $400 per attorney. Our Lexis AI vs CoCounsel comparison covers the AI layers side by side.
It depends on the plan. Thomson Reuters sells Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials as one of its CoCounsel plans, and 2026 buying guides describe CoCounsel as bundled in Advantage rather than sold as an add-on. Westlaw Edge without the AI tier does not include it. How Thomson Reuters handles client data in those tools is covered in our Westlaw AI security review.
Upload one contract, lease or brief and read the issues, risky clauses and page cites. Plans are published from $99 a month, monthly billing, no seat minimum and no sales call.
Sign up